Do you know a Teacher who deserves recognition?

Do you know a Teacher who deserves recognition?

The Kent Teacher of The Year Award is open for nominations!

TSAT are proud to support the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards and nominations have now opened for the 2021 awards.

Please head over to the KM Charity website to nominate someone YOU think makes a difference in your school! If there is someone at your school or in your team you would like to recognise, please do take the time to nominate them.

Assistant Head of Maths at Goodwin Academy, Kirsty Gaythwaite, won Teacher of the Year 2020, selected from thousands of nominations, Kirsty was one of just 76 Silver Award winners across the country.

Speaking about her nomination Kirsty admitted it a huge surprise; “I never thought I was worthy of being nominated, let alone winning!”

The maths teacher went on to add: “At first, I was shocked… I was so unbelievably grateful that I had been acknowledged in such a way. I was just beaming from ear to ear.”

Kirsty’s message to anyone thinking about nominating? “Do it! You will never know how appreciative someone is when they hear that they have been nominated!

She went on to add; “Teaching is tough at the best of times but now, more than ever, teachers need to hear how extraordinary they are; the impact they have on the future decisions of our students and the way in which they help to transform the life chances of each individual student at our TSAT schools.”

The deadline for nominations is the 28th February 2021

Award categories include primary, secondary, newly qualified teacher, non teaching member of staff including midday supervisors and caretakers and a volunteer award, which includes members of the PTA and governors.

A panel of judges select winners from the local authority areas, Ashford, Canterbury, Dartford, Dover, Gravesham, Maidstone, Medway, Sevenoaks, Shepway, Swale, Thanet, Tonbridge and Malling and Tunbridge Wells.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in May at the Ashford International Hotel.


TSAT showed face at The Kent Teachers of the Year 2020; with the below winners;

Kent Wellbeing Champion of the Year: Marion Hayes, Cedar Children’s Academy, Strood

Kent Maths Teacher of the Year: Kirsty Gaythwaite, Goodwin Academy, Dover

Kent Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Cate Hayes Watkins, Goodwin Academy, Dover

There were over 850 entries sent by students, parents and colleagues praising individuals from schools and colleges countywide.